Brockhouse Corgi Moped from Paratrooper to Pootling!

Anybody heard of the Brockhouse Corgi, a small, partly foldeable moped brought to the British public in 1948 by Jack Olding & Co. Ltd of Mayfair, London? Reynard Collectables have just listed a small collection of reviews and brochures of this fascinating machine but I can find little about it (although I did read somewhere online that one of these machines was featured in the Ealing Comedy “The Titfield Thunderbolt”!).

It seems that the machine was originally used by Paratroopers and was known then as the “Welbike”. It was fairly light and thus able to be parachute-dropped during the Normandy landings of WWII. From there it was transformed into the Corgi, and as one of my brochures puts it, “Easy Transport for the District Nurse”.

However, with just the handlebars dropping down, I am not too sure about its claim to be “easily folded”. At a fairly hefty 95 lbs, it wouldn’t be the easiest thing to fling over your shoulder.  Apparently it could also carry “Minnitt” gas and air equipment which I assume was a part of a district nurse’s kit.

Another interesting picture shows the machine with sidecar attached and with a tilt mechanism making it purely a machine for load carrying rather than for bearing a passenger, however small (unless they made a tilting passenger seat to enable you to avoid the tilting driver).

Lovely period stuff, and available in the Reynard Collectables ebay store.

The Corgi & District Nurse

1940s style & the Corgi!

All lean left just like the tilting train!?

About reynardcollectables

Married to Barbara, two boys, work from home office. Trying to build my collectables hobby into a profitable business.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brockhouse Corgi Moped from Paratrooper to Pootling!

  1. W H Pitt says:

    I owned one of those in the late 50’s. I made many modifications to it by adding ‘wind shields for the legs’ – like the Vellocette of that period. It had a wind screen and a pillion seat. It carried two – me and my gal – with not too much trouble. It had two gears – going and not going!
    I sold it, along with its petrol coupons, at the time of the Suez Crisis. Biggest mistake I ever made.

    • Certainly sounds a versatile machine what with the paratroopers, you and your gal and who knows who else! I also found out there is a club for these machines, so somebody else out there must still have one? The ephemera has been sold now, so maybe it went to one of the current owners. Thanks for viewing my blog anyway, I was wondering if I was writing to myself, so it is nice to start getting some comments. Thanks Mike

      • Hans Eberlein says:

        I own a Corgi MKI, which was in poor condition. Since then -2010- I´m searching for parts needed; not cheap, but at least help to complete the bike.
        I´didn´t found a Corgi Owners Club, to share experiences and parts to sell/buy.
        Thanks,
        Hans.

      • Hello Hans
        Thanks for your comment and I see you mention there is no club for these, but have you seen the “Indian Papoose Club” which I found on line. These bikes seem to be the Corgi but rebadged as Indian for the US market. Might be worth a look, the link is here.
        Regards
        Mike

Leave a Reply

