Harry Beck’s classic LT underground maps & GWR “Line to Legend Land” stories

I actually bought these items some 3 years ago and lost them amongst my stock, but finally found them again a few days ago and thought I should sell them before I lose them again.

Everybody I am sure is aware of the “classic” London Transport Underground network map, which was designed originally by Harry Beck, and I have a few examples of some of the earlier 1930/40s fold out maps for sale in Reynard Collectables ebay store here.

What I hadn’t realised when looking through these maps was that the later maps, while looking broadly the same, have other designers names on them. I have for sale examples with the names of Paul Garbutt and Harold F Hutchison listed as the designer from the 1960s, when surely the original brilliant concept should still take the credit for the design?

In this fascinating “railwayana” lot there were also some items I was less familiar with, being from Great Western Railways – leaflets with local legends relating to places served by GWR trains. They consist of four pages with a picture to the cover, inside is the story and the back cover has a partial rail map showing the location of the legend within it. They all seem to date from 1923 and while some are quite tatty there are lots of them in good condition and scarce survivors for such flimsy items. I know these legend leaflets were available in book form but I have never seen the actual leaflets before and can find very little information online about them (apart from two of the “supplements” for sale in an online bookshop for around £10 each).

I have decided to keep them together as one lot available in Reynard Collectables ebay store here, along with lots of other interesting items!

P1030290P1030291P1030300P1030298P1030281P1030285

About reynardcollectables

Married to Barbara, two boys, work from home office. Trying to build my collectables hobby into a profitable business.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

